Resources

Use this section to identify and source products, services, and building trades pertaining to the homes in this issue. Unless otherwise noted, businesses are in New Mexico, the area code is 505, and the prefix for websites is www.

This article first appeared in Summer 2010 Su Casa

the place to be
“why does it have to look like a kitchen?”
Unless otherwise noted, businesses are in Santa Fe.
Builder: Anthony Odai, Canyon Builders, 699-8822, anthonyodai@gmail.com. Architect: John A. Padilla, Padilla & Associates Architects, 471-5727. Kitchen designer: Wendi Odai, Canyon Builders, 699-8823, wendiodai@gmail.com. Appliances: Sub-Zero refrigerator and refrigerator drawers; Wolf dual fuel oven, hood, and microwave; and Asko dishwashers; Sierra West Sales, 471-6742. Cabinet hardware: Rocky Mountain Hardware, Hailey, ID, 888/788-2013, rockymountainhardware.com. Cabinetry: Cindy Mauchly, Santa Fe Custom Works, Albuquerque, NM, 344-2551, sfcustomworks.com. Countertops: Desert Amarillo honed granite from Arizona Tile, Albuquerque, NM, 883-6076, arizonatile.com; fabricated by Sherpa Stone, 473-2273. Wooden countertops in walk-in pantry made by Canyon Builders. Diamond-finish plaster: Canyon Builders, 699-8822. Dining room chairs: Cost Plus World Market, 955-1700, worldmarket.com. Dining room table: Jackalope, 471-8539, jackalope.com. Doors: alder, Authentic Southwest Windows & Doors, 474-5902, authenticsouthwest.com. Flooring: hand-scraped oak. Home accessories: Cielo, 820-2151, cielohome.com. Kitchen chairs: leather chairs, Crate & Barrel (not in Santa Fe), 800/967-6696, crateandbarrel.com. Kitchen table: designed and built by Cindy Mauchly, Santa Fe Custom Works, Albuquerque, NM, 344-2551, sfcustomworks.com. Lighting: onyx pendants and sconces, Statements in Tile/Lighting/Kitchens/Flooring, 988-4440, statementsinsantafe.com. Pot filler: Chicago Faucets, Des Plaines, IL, 847/803-5000, chicagofaucets.com. Prep sink (at the island): The Beach Franke prep sink; Dornbracht faucet, dornbracht.com. Rug (family room): G. Coles-Christensen, 986-6089, therugmerchants.com. Sink (below window): Shaws farm sink, ordered online; Dornbracht faucets, dornbracht.com. Sofa (family room): Mitchell Gold, Design Warehouse, 877/988-1555, designwarehousesantafe.com. Tile: Janet Marshall, handmade 4 x 8 subway tile by Jeffrey Court tile, from Statements in Tile/Lighting/Kitchens/Flooring, 988-4440, statementsinsantafe.com. Windows: Pella Architect Series, Pella Windows & Doors, 474-4112, pellasw.com; window frames painted by Canyon Builders.

“less is more to us”
Unless otherwise noted, businesses are in Albuquerque.
Builder: Suzanne Williams, Suzanne Williams Incorporated, 797-8835, swicustomhomes.com. Interior design: Erin Williams-Ramey, Suzanne Williams Incorporated. Kitchen designer: Chris Hanks, Hanks House, 766-9896, hanks house.net. Appliances: Sub-Zero refrigerator and freezer; Wolf gas cooktop, hood, double ovens, warming drawer, and microwave drawer; Fisher & Paykel dishwasher drawers; Asko dishwasher (in pantry); and Miele coffeemaker; Hanks House, 766-9896, hankshouse.net. Bar stools: Nob Hill Furniture, 262-9677, nobhillfurnishings.com. Cabinetry & hardware: Chris Hanks, Hanks House, 766-9896, hankshouse.net. Chandelier: Foscarini Big Bang chandelier, ordered online. Countertops & island surface: Absolute Black granite, Rocky Mountain Stone, 345-8518, rockymountainstone inc.com. Dining table, chairs & sofa: Jagger sofa sectional extended three-seat; Lennon table; Lite Club Chairs; Smink, Dallas, TX, 214/ 350-0542, sminkinc.com. Doors & windows: Western Commercial Glass, 480-7596. Flooring: polished concrete floors, Hopkins Concrete, 489-3255. Lighting: Dahl Lighting, Santa Fe, NM, 471-7272, dahllighting.com. Painting: David Otero Painting, 252-6101. Sinks & faucets: Kohler sinks and Kohler Karbon faucets, Doc Savage Supply, 884-2656, docsavagesupply.com. Tile & tile design: “Chip” pattern; 45, 46 coloration; Erin Adams Design, 352-1016, erinadamsdesign.com.

“food tastes better in a fun kitchen”
Unless otherwise noted, businesses are in Albuquerque.
Builder/remodeler: Steven Shain, Del Sol Builders, 450-9392, delsolbuilds.com. Crew: Kevin Wiggins and Brett Hollingsworth. Architect: Stevens Mallory Pearl & Campbell, 232-6300. Interior designer: Heidi Britt,
Britt Design, Santa Fe, NM, 470-0228. Kitchen designer: Kathy Jackson, 263-6161, now with Marc Coan Designs, 837-8888, marccoandesigns.com. Appliances: Sub-Zero refrigerator with custom-made chalkboard front; Wolf
cooktop and warming drawer; KitchenAid double oven and dishwasher; Zephyr hood; Sharp microwave drawer; and GE Monogram wine refrigerator; Builders Source Appliance Gallery, 889-3001, builderssource.brandsource.com. Bar stool: Design Within Reach (not in Albuquerque), 800/944-2233, dwr.com. Bench: upholstery, cushions, and pillows by Joe Hlifka, Classic Designs, 877-4512, classicdesigns-nm.com. Cabinet hardware: The Accessory Annex, Santa Fe, NM, 983-3007, santafebydesign.com. Cabinetry: maple and metal with frosted glass, DeWils cabinets, Kathy Jackson, 263-6161, now with Marc Coan Designs, 837-8888, marccoandesigns.com. Countertops: Silestone; green HanStone at the end of the island; Rocky Mountain Stone, 345-8518, rockymountainstoneinc.com. Electrical: Whitaker Electric, 890-0320, whitakerelectricinc .com. Faucet (at double sink): Rohl, Golden Eagle Design, 888-9457, golden-eagle-design.com. Flooring: cork, Flooring Direct, 344-4064; installed by Del Sol Builders. Island concrete work & faux painting: Milagro Custom Flooring Solutions, 235-5784, milagroflooring.com. Island structural elements: designed by Damian Velasquez, 884-5200, moderndigs.com. Lighting: Albuquerque Lighting, 345-2727, albuquerquelighting.com. Painting: Cutting Edge Painting, 855-0199, cuttingedgepaintingnm.com. Pocket doors: Pat’s Doors, 877-7524. Plumbing: Preferred Plumbing, 265-0708, preferredplumbingabq.com. Sinks: Franke double sink and The Beach Franke prep sink and faucet, Builders Source Appliance Gallery, 889-3001, builderssource.brandsource.com. Tile: Architectural Surfaces Inc., 889-0124, asitileandstone.com. Tile design: Heidi Britt, Britt Design, Santa Fe, NM, 470-0228; installed by Del Sol Builders. Windows: Piñon Window and Door, 897-9985, pinonwindow.com; installed by Del Sol Builders.

second nature
Unless otherwise noted, businesses are in Santa Fe.
Builder: Wolf Corporation, 983-5511, wolf-corp.com. Architect: John Covert Watson, Biostructures, Austin, TX, 512/328-4475. Interior designer: Jeff Fenton, ACC, 984-0955, accsantafe.com. Landscape designer & landscaping: Richard Wilder, Wilder Landscaping, 989-8524. Acoustical panels: Tectum, Newark, OH, 740/345-9691, tectum.com. Appliances: Sub-Zero wine storage and refrigerator; Thermador double wall oven, warming drawer, and gas cooktop; KitchenAid built-in microwave, dishwasher, and dishwasher drawer; Builders Source Appliance Gallery, Albuquerque, NM, 889-3001, builderssource.brandsource.com. Autoclaved aerated concrete: Aer Block Enterprises, 983-2160, aerblock.com. Cabinetry & doors: Wolf Corporation Cabinet Shop, 983-5511, wolf-corp.com. Closets: Not Just Closets, Tijeras, NM, 281-9435, njclosets .com. Concrete & fireplaces: Constructors & Associates, 438-8200, cainm.com. Countertops: J. Harris Marble & Granite Company, 471-7596, harrismarblegraniteco.com; NuCrete concrete countertops from Santa Fe by Design, 988-4111, santafebydesign.com. Custom chandelier (dining room): Roger Atkins for John Watson. Custom coffee table & side tables (great room): Roger Atkins for Jeff Fenton. Custom foyer bench & foyer demilune table: Santa Fe Modern Home, 992-0505, santafemodern.com. Custom rugs (great room & dining room): Jeff Fenton for G. Coles-Christensen, 986-6089, therugmerchants.com. Custom walnut door handles (great room): Roger Atkins for Jeff Fenton. Decorative floral & decorative lighting (great room): ACC, 984-0955, accsantafe.com. Decorative pillows: Santa Fe Modern Home, 992-0505, santafemodern.com; Room & Board (not in Santa Fe), 800/301-9720, roomandboard.com. Dining table & chairs: Thomas Moser. Draperies & hardware (dining room): Custom Window Coverings, 820-0511, customwindowcoverings.biz. Electrical: Oso Electric, 982-9489. Fire suppression system: Fire Sprinkler Systems, Sandia, NM, 281-7997. Flooring: wood, Mountain Lumber Company, Ruckersville, VA, 434/985-3646, mountainlumber.com; installed by The Coronado Company, Medanales, NM, 685-0679. Framing: Caliente Construction, 438-4546. Front door: Ray Messenger, Artisan Woodcraft & Design, 577-2422. Geothermal heat pump system: Dahl Plumbing, 471-2233, dahlplumbing.com. Hardware & plumbing fixtures: Santa Fe by Design, 988-4111, santafebydesign.com. Heating, cooling & plumbing: Universal Plumbing & Heating, 982-6604. Ironwork: Firefly Lighting, 455-2835, fireflylighting.com. Lightning protection: Baca Lightning Protection, 473-1615, bacalightningprotection.com. Low-voltage lighting controls: Sound Light Designs, 983-2229, soundlightdesigns.com. Lumber: latillas and vigas, Eluid Salazar, Cañones, NM, 575/638-5619. Metal sheathing: Southwest Metal Products, 473-4575, swmp.net. Outdoor furniture: Moss Outdoor, 989-7300, mossoutdoor.com. Painting: Guy’s Painting Company, 473-0093, guyspainting co.com. Photography: most photography is from Verve Gallery of Photography, 982-5009, vervegalleryofphotography.com. Photovoltaic system: Positive Energy, 424-1112, positiveenergysolar.com. Plaster & stucco: Southwest Plastering Company, 438-6599. Roofing: Southwest Spray Foam, 231-6032, southwestsprayfoam.com. Sectional sofa: Cassina. Security system: ATI Security, 473-0508, atisecurity.net. Solar shades: Santa Fe Awning Company, 474-6460, santafeawning.com. Structural steel: Mesa Steel, 474-6811, mesasteel.com. Tile: (kitchen) Statements in Tile/Lighting/Kitchens/Flooring, 988-4440, statementsinsantafe.com; Luxurious Custom Tile & Stone, 795-8381. Upholstered chairs (great room): Thomas Moser. Veneer stonework: Wolf Corporation, 983-5511, wolf-corp.com. Walls: American Clay, Albuquerque, NM, 866/404-1634, americanclay.com. Windows: Pella Windows & Doors, 474-4112, pellasw.com.

new house with an old soul
Unless otherwise noted, businesses are in Albuquerque.
Builder: Marie “Betty” Blea, Marie Enterprises/Homes by Marie, Corrales, NM, 342-1532, homesbymarie1@ yahoo.com. Designers: Ric Higginbotham; and Max Cabber, DesignCo, 384-0066. Interior design & landscape design: Ric Higginbotham. Kitchen designer: Judy Smith, Lifestyles Kitchen and Design, Roswell, NM, 575/ 625-8780, lifestyleskitchendesign.com. Appliances: Electrolux and KitchenAid, Baillio’s, 883-7511, baillios.com. Cabinetry: Brookhaven, Judy Smith, Lifestyles Kitchen and Design, Roswell, NM, 575/625-8780, lifestyleskitchende sign.com. Countertops, flooring & tile: Ray’s Flooring, 883-1967, raysflooring.com. Doors: Pacific Mutual Door & Window, 823-2505, pamudo.com. Electrical: O’Dell Corporation, 344-9861. Framing: Enduro Framing, 321-0627. Hardware: Pottery Barn, Emtek, and Nostalgic Hardware. Heating & cooling: Thompson Heating and Air Conditioning, 884-2675, thompsonheatingcooling.net. Insulation: Garrity Insulation, 345-1705, garrityinsulation.com. Landscaping: Ric Higginbotham and Hidden Valley Landscaping by Gonzo, 286-7767. Lumber: Lumber Inc., 823-2700. Painting: Los Colores. Plumbing: Big M Plumbing, 877-4122. Plumbing fixtures & hardware: Dahl, 345-8587, dahlplumbing.com. Roofing: Empire Roofing, 344-2405. Stained glass window (kitchen): Gertrude Zachary, 800/682-5768, gertrudezachary.com. Stairs: Albuquerque Stair, 345-6452, abqstair.com. Windows: Jeld-Wen, Williams Window & Door, 242-7707, williamswindow.com.

Finding Keepers
over the counter
Continue your search for the right kitchen countertop at some of the following New Mexico businesses.
Architectural Surfaces Inc. Albuquerque, NM, 889-0124, asitileandstone.com. Artistic Tile & Granite Albuquerque, NM, 797-0799, artistictileandgranite.com. Captain Marble Santa Fe, NM, 982-0276. La Tierra Interiors Bernalillo, NM, 866/538-8624, latierrainteriorsinc.com. Milestone Santa Fe, NM, 989-1999, milestonenm.com. Ray’s Flooring Albuquerque, NM, 883-1967, raysflooring.com. Sandia Marble Albuquerque, NM, 843-7490, sandiamarble.com. Statements in Tile/Lighting/Kitchens/Flooring Santa Fe, NM, 988-4440, statementsinsantafe.com.